Project 52 – Week 8 Landscapes

My interest with photography started with the goal of capturing a scene that for me was pleasing to the eyes and must be shared with the world. Using the only camera that I had back then, a point-and-shoot camera if you have to know, I started taking photos of places I visited or passed by.

It was with those photos that people started noticing I was taking beautiful shots. It was also through those photos that people encouraged me to take a serious stab at photography. Almost 3 years had gone by since then and thousands of shots taken with my Canon 600D DSLR camera and now using my Canon 70D, I would like to share some thoughts about my experience with landscape photography.

Taken from one of the islands in Caramoan
Taken from one of the islands in Caramoan

I've always wanted to travel and explore my country, and capture scenic views of beautiful places that is rarely seen by even my countrymen. I want the world to see that the Philippines with its more that 7000 islands has beautiful places that just needs to be discovered and shared to the world. I am glad that with landscape photography I get to share the beauty of my country to the world. In my own way, I want to attract visitors to come and see for themselves what beauty this country has to offer. Hopefully in some way I get to inspire some of you to contribute with this goal.

Here are some of the lessons I learned through experience and some readings on landscape photography:

  • Try to capture scenes during the golden hours of the day, which are very early in the morning or late in the afternoon.
  • So if you are shooting during the golden hours, you need to be there at least an hour or two before in order to survey the scene and set up your equipment.
  • I learned from one of the great photographers, George Tapan, is not to use filters to capture a scene. Aside from the fact that you can do this during post-process, it lessens the realism of the scene as captured through the lens.
  • Even though it is landscape photography, try capturing a scene in portrait orientation. Sometimes a scene is captured better that way.
  • Always have a tripod with you when doing landscape photography. There are times when you need to capture a scene with a slow shutter speed and this could lead to camera shake if you are holding your camera.
  • Set your ISO setting to the lowest possible your camera can allow, and set your f-stop to at least 8.0. This settings will usually result in slower shutter speed hence the need for a tripod.
  • I recommend buying a remote shutter release but you can also use you camera's timer.

These photos were taken using a Canon EOS 600D and 70D with a Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM lens.

 

Leave a Reply

