When in Manila 2

IMG_0952

As part of my ongoing series, When in Manila, I saw this structure on one of my photo walks. It is at the back SM Mall of Asia near the Manila Bay. I think there are a couple of other similar structures along the walk and what caught my attention was I remember seeing them in American movies set near beaches or piers.

For someone who has not been outside the country, seeing such brings a smile to my face as I no longer need to travel great distances just to see them. It is also a testimony to the mixture of cultures our country, the Republic of the Philippines, has. It is a country with all its political divisiveness also enjoys a great latitude of freedom, though it has its kinks, the system tries not to discriminate. Even in the equality of gender, we already had 2 female presidents, compared that to other countries, even those first world countries.

I have been asked many times why the thought of migrating or even just working in another country didn’t cross my mind. Simple answer: I like it here. No matter the political noise, the lack of opportunities, I still prefer to be in my home country. So continue visiting this website or better yet follow it as I will be posting more photos of interesting places in my country.

Photo taken with a Canon EOS 600D with a Canon EF-S 18-135 f/3.5-5.6 lens.

Leave a Reply

