Poem lovely as a tree

Innocence at playI think I shall never see; a poem lovely as a tree – Joyce Kilmer

This line has been engraved in my mind as my father loves to repeat this to us. When I saw this scene and as I was taking this photo, I remembered that line.

It saddens me when I hear in the news that trees had to be cut down to give way for commerce. I don’t think that it is the only way, Ayala has done a wonderful job of having this tall skyscrapers but still has much greenery with parks and trees lining up the streets. This is a great concept of mixing the cold, hard concrete structures and the soft, relaxing greens provided by the trees. Children like those in the photo have a place to go to play and be aware of nature and hopefully instill in them the love for it with the memories they had when they were young.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the sweet earth’s flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

Photo taken at Legaspi Active Park with Canon EOS 600D 18-135 kit.

One thought on “Poem lovely as a tree”

  1. My high school English teacher pointed out another equally well known poem, a parody of the above actually. And how true it is.

    Song of the Open Road

    I think that I shall never see
    A billboard lovely as a tree.
    Indeed, unless the billboards fall
    I’ll never see a tree at all.

    -Ogden Nash

Leave a Reply

